Stop words in copywriting

Stop words in copywriting can be compared to a red traffic light sign. What is a stop word? These are phrases, words, word forms that do not carry any semantic load. They can be easily replaced or dropped from the article. Stop words in copywriting make the text uninformative and insipid. Search engines ignore such material, as a result – the result of being in the top results is small. The picture looks no less sad when customers are asked to write an SEO text, and even using a large number of «keys» for a couple of thousand characters.

stop words

What does a list of unnecessary stop words look like? These include:

This also includes pronouns, interjections and other cliché phrases. Interestingly, even prepositions and numbers are referred to by some verification services as stop words. Examples of stop words include:

The main problem with stop words in the text is the absence of this very problem. But many SEOs and customers go to extremes. Writing a text without one or two of these words is not an easy task for one simple reason: the text with these words becomes «livelier» and «more human». It is necessary to take into account the rules of search robots, but do not forget: your client is not a robot, but a person!

Should I use stop words in the text?

Search engines are quite supportive of the presence of certain stop words in the text. Another issue is quantity. Any normal copywriter, whether he is a beginner or a pro, cannot do copywriting without a stop word. If they are in Russian, it means they were invented for something. The presence of stop words in the text is normal practice: without them, the material will look weak, empty and unemotional. It’s another matter when it comes to technical documents, instructions, legislative articles and acts. Otherwise, the presence of stop words will not harm the article.

After all, what is a stop word? This is a kind of balance between words that can be left, and some can be removed without breaking logic and connecting thought. A common mistake is to completely remove pronouns in the text. As a result, we get a dry, lifeless text, written as for a telegram.

The golden mean – where is it?

When a customer or an optimizer draws up a technical task for a copywriter to write an SEO text, no one pays attention to the number of keywords required for use in the text. Those. It’s okay to add a dozen «keys» to a material of 2000 characters, but to write a couple of stop words is like death. There should be a norm in everything, in stop words too.

what is stop words

SEO experts believe that the text should contain no more than 30% of the total number of stop words. And to understand this, a special check for the stop word will help. But after it, you do not need to immediately delete all unnecessary phrases, otherwise there is a great risk of getting not just a compressed text, but complete nonsense.

Without adjectives, the text becomes boring and uninteresting, and without pronouns, inconsistencies appear in sentences. Stop words are both useful and harmful at the same time. But the task of the copywriter is to find a balance between the two. There is no need to reach fanaticism and delete all unwanted words, phrases, prepositions, pronouns and adverbs. If you see that you can remove the noise word from the text, delete it without regret. And if you understand that it embellishes, adds emotions – let it remain.

We hope that the article was useful and interesting, and we were able to answer the question of what a stop word is and how to deal with it.

You might be interested

Стоп-слова в копирайтинге

Стоп-слова в копирайтинге можно сравнить с красным знаком светофора. Что такое стоп-слово? Это фразы, слова, словоформы, не несущие никакой смысловой нагрузки. Их легко можно заменить или выбросить из статьи. Стоп-слова в копирайтинге делают текст малоинформативным и пресным. Поисковые системы подобный материал игнорируют, как итог — шанс оказаться в топ-выдаче невысок. Не менее печальной выглядит картина, когда заказчики просят написать SEO-текст, да еще с использованием большого количества «ключей» на пару тысяч знаков.

стоп слова в тексте

Как же выглядит список ненужных стоп-слов? К ним относятся:

Сюда же можно причислить местоимения, междометия и фразы-клише. Интересно, но даже предлоги и цифры некоторые проверочные сервисы относят в эту категорию. В качестве стоп-слов можно привести такие примеры:

Главная проблема стоп-слова в тексте — отсутствие этой самой проблемы. Но многие оптимизаторы и заказчики впадают в крайности. Написать текст без одного или двух этих слов — задача непростая по одной причине: текст с указанными словами становится «живее» и «человечнее». Учитывать правила поисковых роботов нужно, но не стоит забывать — ваш клиент не робот, а человек!

Употреблять ли стоп-слова в тексте?

Поисковые системы вполне благосклонно относятся к наличию тех или иных стоп-слов в тексте. Вопрос в их количестве. Любой нормальный копирайтер, будь он новичок или профи, не сможет обойтись в копирайтинге без стоп-слова. Если они есть в русском или украинском языке, значит для чего-то были придуманы. Наличие стоп-слов в тексте — нормальная практика, ведь без них материал будет выглядеть слабым, пустым и безэмоциональным. Другое дело, если речь идет о технических документах, инструкциях, законодательных статьях и актах. В остальном наличие стоп-слов ничем не навредит статье.

Ведь что такое стоп-слово? Это некий баланс между словами, которые можно оставить, а какие-то следует удалить без нарушения логики и связующей мысли. Распространенная ошибка — желание полностью убрать местоимения в тексте. В итоге мы получаем сухой безжизненный текст, написанный как для телеграммы.

Золотая середина — где она?

Когда заказчик или оптимизатор составляет техническое задание копирайтеру для написания СЕО-текста, никто не обращает внимание на количество ключевых слов, необходимых для употребления. Т. е. внести с десяток «ключей» в материал из 2000 символов — нормально, а вот прописать парочку стоп-слов — смерти подобно. Во всем должна быть норма, и в стоп-словах тоже.

что такое стоп слово

SEO-специалисты считают, что в тексте может присутствовать не больше 30% стоп-слов от их общего количества. А чтобы понять это, поможет специальная проверка на стоп-слова. Но после нее не нужно сразу удалять все лишние фразы, иначе велик риск получить не просто сжатый текст, а совершенную бессмыслицу.

Без прилагательных текст становится скучным и неинтересным, а без местоимений появляются нестыковки в предложениях. Стоп-слова и полезны, и вредны одновременно. Но задача копирайтера в том и состоит, чтобы найти баланс между ними. Не нужно доходить до фанатизма и удалять все неугодные слова, фразы, предлоги, местоимения и наречия. Если видите, что из текста можно убрать шумовое слово — удаляйте без сожаления. А если понимаете, что оно приукрашает, добавляет эмоций, то пусть остается.

Надеемся, что статья была полезной и интересной, и мы смогли ответить на вопрос, что такое стоп-слово и как с ним бороться.

Вам может быть интересно